## **November 9, 2020**

## Covid-19 Update – NYS 'Yellow Zone Restricted' Communities Includes Lackawanna

At a press briefing held earlier today by Gov. Andrew Cuomo, several Erie County towns and cities, including the City of Lackawanna, were identified as falling in the state's 'yellow zone restricted' category based on cluster-based cases of Covid-19 in the region.

According to a map released by Erie County Executive Mark Poloncarz, the towns and cities in the state's "yellow zone" designation in addition to Lackawanna include: Grand Island, Buffalo, Tonawanda, Amherst, Clarence, Cheektowaga, Lancaster, West Seneca, Orchard Park, Hamburg, Elma and the Town of Aurora. An image of the map is below.

The NYS mandated restrictions associated with the "yellow zone" designation are as follows:

- Mass gatherings, indoor and outdoor, limited to 25 people
- 50% of maximum capacity for houses of worship
- Businesses remain open
- Indoor and outdoor dining permitted, four person maximum per table
- Schools remain open, but must test 20% of students and staff for in-person instruction.

In addition, both the Governor and County Executive stated that all restaurants and bars in Erie County's 'yellow zone' will be required to shut down at midnight.

The "yellow zone" is the least restrictive of the three designations made by NYS, followed by orange, and then red, which is the most restrictive zone. Detailed information about the state's Covid-19 strategy can be found on Governor Cuomo's web page <a href="https://www.governor.ny.gov/.../governor-cuomo-details-covid-...">https://www.governor.ny.gov/.../governor-cuomo-details-covid-...</a>

As has been the case with all things related to Covid-19, this most recent situation is being monitored and subject to change based on further guidance from NYS and Erie County Health Departments. Further updates will be communicated as more information is provided to us.